Testimonial Star Rating - 2131728
by Cathy K - 6/23/2021
Ray was very nice and very knowledgeable. Gave fair pricing for items.highly reccomend.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 2131729
by John Maben - 6/23/2021
Chris and his team like what they do and it shows. Always helpful and a great place to buy and sell!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 2107319
by Nick Kritikakos - 6/11/2021
John and Ray are awesome professional, knowledgeable and always give me a fair price. Thank you again for the great service always a Great experience.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 2107788
by Devil D. - 6/10/2021
I have been collecting for many of years and have bought from many of places. After one visit to Distinctive coins shop I have become a believer that their is still a great shop. I had the pleasure of working with Ray who was very knowledgable, proffesional and kind. It was a relax enviroment where you didn't feel pressured and could look to find excatly what you want. If you are looking for a fair price and a wide selection this is the place to come.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 2094005
by Gary W. - 6/4/2021
They gave a free appraisal of my silver and were very friendly. I would do business with them again.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 2084705
by Smith's Coins - 6/1/2021
Have done business with Chris and John for many years. Pleasure to do business with. Always fair and honest!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Chicagoland's finest coin shop...
Testimonial Star Rating - 2012171
by Richard J. - 5/5/2021
Distinctive Coins has supplied me with all of my numismatic materials for many years. John, Chris and Ray have always made me feel like family. Their knowledge of the numismatic field is unsurpassed in the Chicagoland area. Their prices are fair and their hospitality is outstanding. Although they are known nationally and internationally they have never lost their "hometown coin shop" feel. Testimonial written by Richard J. on this site.
Go to Testimonial on distinctivecoinsreviews.com
Testimonial Star Rating - 1994039
by Derrick Lilly - 4/24/2021
This is the place to go if you're a foreign coin collector. Friendly owner and staff to work with. Nice selection of generic and numismatic items. Something for every type of coin and precious metals collector.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1959768
by rick nelson - 3/29/2021
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DISTINCTIVE COINS,They are very fair and very HONEST. I have known John for years. I have had alot of dealings with him over the years. This is the place to buy sell or trade your coins or currency. Chris his son is in the business as well, both are VERY NICE to deal with. Rick Nelson
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1938293
by Tim W. - 3/15/2021
Distinctive Coins is hands down my favorite coin/bullion store I have been to. It's such a pleasure to do business here. The staff are so helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly! I am brand new to investing in gold and silver and the staff has been so helpful in getting me started and answering questions I've had. If you're considering bullion or starting a coin collection, look no further than Distinctive Coins, you won't be let down!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1916429
by Jim Hatton - 3/2/2021
Highly Recommended place to buy and sell your coins Chris and every one who works there has treated me fair and pays more than anyone I ever sold to,Also its a small place but very good selection of coins for being so small very together.Highly Recommended
Go to Testimonial on Google
Sold antique foreign coins
Testimonial Star Rating - 1887941
by Lisa H - 2/10/2021
I inherited many antique foreign coins from my grandfather. When I contacted the coin dealer I have used in the past, he recommended Distinctive Coins. I was blown away by the knowledge the owners of this shop possessed. It was fascinating to learn about some of the coins. I was happy to sell the coins and confident that the price was fair. Testimonial written by Lisa H on this site.
Go to Testimonial on distinctivecoinsreviews.com
Good Folks to Do Business With
Testimonial Star Rating - 1855562
by Margaret - 1/12/2021
Not having bought/sold coins before, I researched several coin stores in the southwest suburbs of Chicago. Distinctive Coins in Downers Grove was one of the few that belongs to the Professional Numismatic Guild, which made me feel more confident to do business with them. The staff there is knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Out of the three coin stores we went to, Distinctive Coin gave us the best price for the two gold coins we were selling. I definitely would recommend these folks. The only reason I am not giving them five stars is I have had only one transaction with them, and I feel I'd have to deal with them a few more times before they earned that fifth star. Testimonial written by Margaret on this site.
Go to Testimonial on distinctivecoinsreviews.com
Testimonial Star Rating - 1856182
by Margaret B. - 1/12/2021
Not having bought/sold coins before, I researched several coin stores in the southwest suburbs of Chicago. Distinctive Coins in Downers Grove was one of the few that belongs to the Professional Numismatic Guild, which made me feel more confident to do business with them. The staff there is knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Out of the three coin stores we went to, Distinctive Coin gave us the best price for the two gold coins we were selling. I definitely would recommend these folks. The only reason I am not giving them five stars is I have had only one transaction with them, and I feel I'd have to deal with them a few more times before they earned that fifth star.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1835241
by Amie - 12/21/2020
I’ve been to distinctive coins twice. The employees are very knowledgeable, moved quickly and gave me a fair price for my coins and jewelry. Testimonial written by Amie on this site.
Go to Testimonial on distinctivecoinsreviews.com
Testimonial Star Rating - 1807400
by Bryan Mertl - 12/1/2020
Great place nice people
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1780824
by Niko Margarites - 11/10/2020
Chris and the crew where extremely helpful. Great customer service.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1675446
by Jack M. - 9/14/2020
Staff was great, very helpful, and honest. They kept it simple and we were in and out in twenty minutes. Would definitely recommend.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1668183
by Jeff Harris - 9/6/2020
I sold some coins at Distinctive Coins. I called first and was describing some coins over the phone and Chris was spot on on which might be worth something. When I came in Chris was straight forward and quick and did not try to sell me anything. I recommend Distinctive Coins.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1666870
by Danielle Sharp - 9/4/2020
What a fantastic experience!! I had never been in the store before. I had a bag full of things that I had no idea the value of. Everyone was so nice and explained everything to me. Would absolutely recommend this store!!!! Testimonial written by Danielle Sharp on this site.
Go to Testimonial on distinctivecoinsreviews.com
Testimonial Star Rating - 1663220
by james vojslavek - 8/31/2020
Ive been comming here for over a year and ray and the rest of the team have always taken care of me and give good honest fair prices. Thank you guys!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1667194
by maria Saenz - 8/31/2020
(Translated by Google) If on has evaluation (Original) Si on tiene evalúo
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1649605
by Victoria Halevy - 8/15/2020
This place is awesome! When I called around to other coin shops in the Chicagoland area, they all sent me here for ancient world coins. The owner was incredibly helpful over the phone, buzzed me in right away when I arrived, and helped me find what I was looking for in less than 5 minutes. It was clear everyone in the shop was extremely knowledgeable and extremely helpful. I can't recommend this place enough!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1641067
by Virginia West - 8/9/2020
I was buzzed in without an appointment and was waited on immediately. I needed to sell coins from an estate that was being liquidated. Chris took plenty of time to educate me and to look up all the current prices. When I told him I wanted to sell to Distinctive, he patiently wrote up a sales invoice and his father wrote me a check. I had done research and visited other coin shops. The price I received was right in line with others I had found. I did see the negative review about Distinctive but there were so many positives that I chose them. There really isn’t a wall to “yell from behind” so I am confused as to what that review referred to. I was VERY comfortable and pleased with their professionalism and knowledge. They have good stories too! I would recommend them highly. Thank you!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1617560
by J. Koepp - 7/21/2020
Been selling coins to Distinctive Coins for 3 years now. I’m never disappointed. They are always courteous and pay very fair prices.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1606722
by Darren Q. - 7/11/2020
Contacted a number of area coin shops to sell a few certified coins. One gave a ridiculously low offer. One was fair, but then they tried to renegotiate lower than melt value, even though spot prices had risen considerably since their original offer. A couple others never bothered to reply. Distinctive Coins replied quickly, gave a reasonable offer online and honored it the next day. Simple cash transaction. Thank you!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1598178
by Gilberto Mendoza - 7/7/2020
Very good store nice people
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1596035
by Joe P. - 7/2/2020
After having to go through my Parent's house and finding a number of coins and paper currency, we found Distinctive Coins online and decided to give them a try. We quickly found out that we made a great decision. They were very knowledgeable and helpful with assessing our currency and very fair in the payout. We went back two more times and were very pleased each time.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1565660
by Old coins lover - 6/6/2020
My old coins collection me sohail akhtar awan from pakistan my WhatsApp number +923410180743
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1512844
by Bob Peers - 3/26/2020
I have been going to this shop for over ten years and I've always been treated fairly. If they don't have exactly what you want they will get it for you. I don't feel comfortable using any other broker and I've been collecting for 30 years.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1416952
by Robert Simanton - 2/6/2020
Fair and friendly family company.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1360590
by Dan Alwin - 12/21/2019
I brought in a bag of old coins. They spent time going through the bag and giving me values on all of them. They were friendly and knowledgeable.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Great coin shop!
Testimonial Star Rating - 1290794
by Carol Vicic - 11/25/2019
My husband, my sister and I spent about 2 hours in the shop having coins appraised that we inherited. Very professional and knowledgeable, especially if you have foreign coins. Would highly recommend Distinctive Coins! Testimonial written by Carol Vicic on this site.
Go to Testimonial on distinctivecoinsreviews.com
Testimonial Star Rating - 1283700
by Larry H. - 11/20/2019
I've visited Distinctive Coins in Downers Grove Illinois this afternoon seeking to sell some coins left in my father-in-law's estate.I had arrived with the coins pre-sorted in Ziploc bags with the amount of coins in each bag & I was hoping that this would simplify the whole process. I was greeted by Ray who made the whole process quite easy and straightforward. It is so refreshing to run into a reputable small business who are friendly, professional, and fair.Thank you so much for making this task go so smoothly.Looking forward to dealing with Distinctive Coins again in the near future.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1216127
by Bonnie Melikian - 10/9/2019
Took in a coin I inherited approximately 50 years ago. I have no knowledge regarding the value of coins, etc. They were extremely knowledgeable and informative. Very accommodating and helpful.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1212656
by Rog R. - 10/5/2019
I checked Yelp first and found Distinctive Coins to be highly rated. I had some silver bars I bought years ago and wanted to just sell them. They could not have been more professional, fair, and friendly. You can trust this store for a fair deal. I would do business with them again anytime.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1178362
by Joe K. - 9/15/2019
This is without a doubt one of the better dealers in the entire Midwest. They were friendly to me, let me see the type of coins I wanted to without any hassle whatsoever, and their prices rocked. You cannot go wrong going here, just some very nice people running an excellent coin store.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1176378
by Claudia Geocaris - 9/14/2019
An Overwhelming Task Made Easy After my mother’s death a couple of years ago, I inherited bags of coins that included pennies, nickels, dimes, quarters, half dollars, and dollars. Because the task of sorting and assessing these coins seemed so overwhelming, I procrastinated until just a week ago. After trying to research the value of the coins on the internet, I finally decided to see if there were any coin dealers in my area. One of the businesses that appeared was Distinctive Coins. After reading the reviews of their customers, I decided it was worth a call. Ray answered the phone and, very patiently, spent at least 15 minutes with me explaining how I could easily assess which coins had value and which did not. That evening I took my notes and began to sort through the coins. How easy!! With Ray’s guidelines, I was amazed at how quickly I was able to complete the task. The next day I took my “find” to Distinctive Coins and, again, Ray was there to answer my questions and assess the value of my coins. Based on my previous research, I felt that I was treated fairly and offered an appropriate amount of money for the coins of value. If I am ever in this situation again, Distinctive Coins will be the first place I turn to for advice! Thank you!!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1176016
by Claudia G. - 9/13/2019
An Overwhelming Task Made Easy After my mother's death a couple of years ago, I inherited bags of coins that included pennies, nickels, dimes, quarters, half dollars, and dollars. Because the task of sorting and assessing these coins seemed so overwhelming, I procrastinated until just a week ago. After trying to research the value of the coins on the internet, I finally decided to see if there were any coin dealers in my area. One of the businesses that appeared was Distinctive Coins. After reading the reviews of their customers, I decided it was worth a call. Ray answered the phone and, very patiently, spent at least 15 minutes with me explaining how I could easily assess which coins had value and which did not. That evening I took my notes and began to sort through the coins. How easy!! With Ray's guidelines, I was amazed at how quickly I was able to complete the task. The next day I took my "find" to Distinctive Coins and, again, Ray was there to answer my questions and assess the value of my coins. Based on my previous research, I felt that I was treated fairly and offered an appropriate amount of money for the coins of value. If I am ever in this situation again, Distinctive Coins will be the first place I turn to for advice! Thank you!!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155908
by James Rehak - 7/29/2019
This is my favorite coin store to visit in Chicagoland! They have a great selection and are also very fair and transparent if you sell to them. Ray is very helpful and passionate about what he does!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155897
by Ryon K. - 7/11/2019
Just stopped by to get some coins appraised and maybe sell them. I did my research before hand, so i would know if i was being robbed. Ray was Completely professional and knowledgeable and gave very fair pricing. Im definitely going to use them more in the future for buying and selling. They follow laws and will look up if they don't know something.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155909
by Evan Strauel - 4/30/2019
They really know what they’re talking about when it comes to coins. I’m no collector but had a bunch of foreign currency sitting taking up space so I took them here. The guy took time to look up almost everything I had to offer and gave a fair and reasonable price. Great place. I recommended this place to anyone looking to buy or sell coins.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155898
by Dan K. - 3/22/2019
I am a big fan of Distinctive Coins. They are the most fair coin shop in the West suburbs and Chris and Ray are very polite and helpful.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155911
by Michael Doran - 12/31/2018
Experienced coin dealers who know plenty. Helpful and honest.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155910
by Samuel Friend - 12/1/2018
John, Ray and Chris are wonderful! I would consider myself a regular customer at this store and they always treat me so well! I highly recommend this shop to any coin collector rookie or veteran. They are more than fair with prices and will even throw in bonuses with your purchase!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155914
by john kowalsky - 10/2/2018
Trustworthy. Fair prices. Friendly. Informative.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155917
by Roger Rowan - 8/28/2018
Great shop with a huge inventory of world coins.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155913
by Asher Tristani - 8/28/2018
Distinctive Coins is a Great Coin Shop. They have paid me more than anyone else for coins. Highly recommended.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155912
by Alex Giachetto - 8/28/2018
I’ve been coming into this shop for over 12 years to get everything from my normal coin supplies to specific coins for my collection to the occasional bullion purchase. I’ve found them to be fair on their prices both when buying from them as well as when I’ve occasionally sold them coins. They seem to have good knowledge of the current coin market and are good at keeping the essentials of any good coin shop in stock. If you’re looking to sell coins in the area I’d definitely recommend you get a quote from these guys.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155916
by Michael Loy - 8/28/2018
Decent people. Fair price on silver
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155915
by Morgan Freeman - 8/28/2018
I have been buying and selling coins for a while, so far my best experience is with Distinctive Coin... their easy to talk too and will help you find what u need at a very reasonable price. Definitely coming back ??
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155899
by Nicole B. - 5/30/2018
I walked into this store for the first time today wanting to sell coins, paper money, and jewelry from and was promptly greeted. I know nothing about buying or selling coins and was a little hesitant because of this but Roy was very knowledgeable! I was very impressed with the store and the professionalism and attentiveness to the product in which I was hoping for and looking to sell. I definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to sell coins, paper money, and jewelry! I will be back!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155901
by Pilar L. - 9/18/2017
After going to another rare coin dealer I went here to know the value of some inherited coins. Unlike the other place, the manager- Ray- explained what I had, how the value would change depending on the price of silver/gold, and other facts about coin collecting I would not otherwise know. He gave me all the information I needed to make an informed decision. Super informative- and he gave me the best price.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155918
by Anthony Sarto - 8/28/2017
I have been dealing with these people for many years. Their staff has more numismatic knowledge than 95% or more of the other dealers in the Chicago area. If you cannot get to their store in Downers Grove, Illinois, be sure to check out their monthly 4-page ads in World Coin News or their numerous eBay listings (eBay user ID: distinctivecoins).
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155904
by Anthony B. - 5/3/2017
I checked the web for ratings on coin shops in the western suburbs and narrowed it down to two with the best ratings. Distinctive Coins and one other shop. I went to the other shop first, and while they were pleasant, they knew I just wanted to cash out, and went through the motions and offered me a price. I thanked them and then went onto Distinctive Coins. Roy introduced himself and looked at what I had, taking a little time to explain what was of value and what was not and why. I learned something about it and feel he gave me a fair price - it turned out to be 25% higher than the first shop! Additionally, through the conversation I mentioned I had a few other collectables, and Roy mentioned he had some other contacts that might be interested. I plan on returning to show him those other collectables. I highly recommend Distinctive Coins!!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155921
by Kathy Kohler - 8/29/2015
I have done business with Distinctive Coins in Downers Grove on many occasions over the years. Their experience and customer service is exceptional and I highly recommend them.
Go to Testimonial on Google
First Class
Testimonial Star Rating - 1156286
by zeeba41 - 2/6/2015
I am a long time coin collector, and have had nothing but good experiences in dealing with this shop. John, Chris and Ray are very knowledgeable in the coin business and have always treated me very well. Their selection of world coins is unsurpassed by anyone in the Chicagoland area.
Go to Testimonial on DexKnows
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155920
by Dan V. - 8/29/2014
I believe I was in this store a dozen times so far. I collect world banknotes/paper currency. I found the staff to be friendly and I like the available selection of notes for sale. I appreciate the knowledge in world currency that Chris has, and I always received good answers and advice from him. I will return to the store, it is my favorite place in the Downers Grove area to shop for world banknotes.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155922
by Tom Price - 8/29/2014
Fair price and value. Good experience overall
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155905
by Alex A. - 6/28/2014
In my opinion Distinctive coins is one of the best numismatic stores in the Midwest. It's stock is constantly kept updated and here you can find true rarities often at a fraction of their market values . Distinctive Coins offers ancient ,medieval and modern world coin , US coins , as well as US and world paper money as well as numismatic literature and supplies. People there are highly experienced and easy to deal with. I highly recommend this store.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1155906
by Sheri M. - 6/10/2014
Back history: I know nothing about coins. I was left an inheritance, a mishmash of items (partially filled books of old coins, foreign paper bills, US certificate bills, some gold and silver). It was my intention to cash out the items as a single unit. I brought the coins to three different shops and each store was very different in their appraisal approach. I listened to one store owner bad mouth each items as he went through the lot and then presented a lowball offer. (I would give them one star). Another shop was thorough and courtesy, but didn't value the foreign items which fell short of my goal (maybe a four stars store). Distinctive Coins was by far the best shop in several regards. First, they were very efficient. I was fortunate that two numismatists worked together to quickly access the items. I also appreciated the information they shared about this and that. I received a bit of an education for free, as I see it. Distinctive Coin has a market for foreign items which I didn't learn until the day progressed and was an distinct advantage in my case. I guess the most important factor is that I felt that the offer that was presented was very fair. It is also important to note that I wasn't pressured into taking the offer with any tactics as they were the first shop I visited. The assessment at the four star shop helped me to gauge that the estimate from Distinctive Coin was going to be a bit higher. Add in the foreign priced items and it was a good bit higher. The experience was a real eye opener. If I find myself looking to unload some more coin items, I would go directly to Distinctive Coins and save myself a whole of time and frustration. I know now that you will be treated well and with fairness.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Good coins at low prices
Testimonial Star Rating - 1156287
by Moyski14 - 1/25/2014
Staff is easy to work with. Very accommodating when lookingat gold and silver commemorative U.S. coins.
Go to Testimonial on DexKnows
Superb experience.
Testimonial Star Rating - 1156288
by Jaco - 10/10/2012
I'm a foreigner living in an Asian country.I have had 2 awesome deals with the guys of Distinctive coins and I have to mention Chris here.Quick answering of emails,good prices offered,very fast shipping.Did almost 1000 US dollars in business and will come back looking for more.
Go to Testimonial on DexKnows
Good service from Distinctive Coins
Testimonial Star Rating - 1156290
by John J. Witt - 4/14/2011
One year ago, I wanted to start buying 0.999 fine, 1 troy oz. silver medallions as an inflation hedge. Howver, I could not afford more than $200-300 per week. I discovered Disticntive Coins and at that time they had a large supply of medallions at $2.00 over spot. You can get a lower fee on the net, but you have to buy at least 5000 oz. to get free shipping. This way beyond my budget, so I was very happy to use Distinctive Coins for my supplier. Today, with silver at $42/oz., their fee is $2.50/oz. and I am very happy to continue my dollar cost averaging of silver with them. They never fail to have a supply for me.
Go to Testimonial on DexKnows
Star Rating - 5 by 7 raters [Show +]
Star Rating - 4 by 2 raters [Show +]